Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Athletic Scholarships awarded to 16 athletes at the 31st Annual Reception event.

Today, Sport Newfoundland and Labrador (SportNL) presented the recipients of its Scholarship Awards during their 31st Annual Scholarship Reception, held at the Johnson Geo Centre in St. John’s.

The 16 scholarship recipients are:

  • Breana Andres, Powerlifting
  • Shae-Lynn Clarke, Ball Hockey
  • Noah Cumby, Swimming
  • Michael Drover, Gymnastics
  • Ethan Efford, Golf
  • Carmen Elliott, Hockey
  • Liam Hickey, Para Hockey
  • Abby Newhook, Hockey
  • Sophie Pickard, Rugby
  • Jordan Pomeroy, Softball
  • Jasmine Rahman, Tennis
  • Katarina Roxon, Swimming
  • Alyson Thomas, Ball Hockey
  • Cole Tucker, Baseball
  • Mitchel Whelan, Softball
  • Nathan Young, Curling

The recipients biographies can be found in the press release attached.

Special congratulations to Katarina Roxon, who received the Frank T. Butler Memorial scholarship, presented by Marie Butler. Katarina will receive $1,500 for her athletic achievements during 2021. As an elite swimmer, Roxon submitted an application that stood out with impressive national, and international athletic achievements.

Congratulations to all our scholarship recipients at today’s luncheon. Thank you, Bernard Davis, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Chris Schwartz, SportNL Board President who helped with the presentations.