Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Athletic Scholarships awarded to 13 athletes at the 32nd Annual Reception event.

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador (SportNL) presented the recipients with their scholarships during the 32nd Annual Scholarship Reception held at Emera Innovation Exchange, Signal Hill Campus in St. John’s.

The 13 scholarship recipients are:

  • Michael MJ Budden, Special Olympics
  • Noah Cumby, Swimming
  • Matthew Earle, Hockey
  • Gleb Evstigneev, Gymnastics
  • Kate Hickey, Soccer
  • Cori Hicks, Parasport
  • Ciara Molloy, Soccer
  • Abby Newhook, Hockey
  • Sarah Pace, Gymnastics
  • Jenni Simpson, Ball Hockey
  • Alyson Thomas, Ball Hockey
  • Lucas Wiseman, Powerlifting
  • Nathan Young, Curling

The recipients’ biographies can be found in the press release.

Abby Newhook, a hockey player attending Boston College, received the Frank T. Butler Memorial Scholarship which was presented by Marie Butler. As one of the top scorers in the NCAA Division 1 East Conference, along with being invited to the Hockey Canada Women’s National Team Development Camp, Abby submitted an application that stood out with an impressive academic year and rookie hockey season at Boston College.

Congratulations also to all our scholarship recipients at today’s luncheon. Thank you also to The Honourable John Abbott, Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development, Eugene Trickett, Scholarship Committee Chair, and Chris Schwartz, SportNL Board President, who helped with the presentations.