Sport Newfoundland and Labrador (SportNL) is thrilled to announce the finalists to be celebrated at an upcoming Sport NL 2022 Annual Provincial Awards event taking place on Saturday, April 29, 2023, at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. The event will celebrate the sporting successes and contributions of athletes, coaches, teams, executives, officials, and volunteers within the sports community from our province for their accomplishments in 2022.

Each of the finalists were nominated by their provincial sport organization as the best in their sport.

“The past year included many highlights and achievements for many Newfoundland and Labrador sport individuals who were nominated within their categories. The finalists selected by the awards committee are no exception,” said Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s Board President Chris Schwartz. “I understand the difficult task of the members of the selection committee to select our finalists and want to express my appreciation to them for being part of the awards process.”

Sport NL is pleased to announce the finalists to recognize their outstanding performances in sport. A considerable number of nominations were submitted by Provincial Sport Organizations for consideration in the ten awards categories including: Senior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Coach of the Year, Team of the Year, Executive of the Year, Official of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year.

“The phenomenal number of quality nominations received this year is wonderful to see and it is an incredible achievement not only to receive a nomination but also to be selected as a finalist,” said Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s Executive Director Troy Croft. “I congratulate all of the finalists selected this year.”

The three finalists for each of the 10 award categories were selected, based on voting results, from a committee of sports and media professionals. The finalists for each category are listed below and their biographies are in the backgrounder attached.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year (Margaret Davis Memorial Award)

Jaida Lee – Baseball

Emily Reglar – Karate

Abby Williams – Swimming

Junior Male Athlete of the Year (Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award)

Liam Drover-Mattinen – Tennis

Gleb Evstigneev – Gymnastics (Trampoline)

Chris Weeks – Swimming

Executive of the Year (Graham Snow Memorial Award)

Sean Cadigan – Softball

Melissa Gale – Artistic Swimming

Greg Williams – Baseball

Volunteer of the Year (Frank W. Graham Memorial Award)

Kim Blagdon – Volleyball

Karen Gosse – Gymnastics

Thomas Walsh – Ball Hockey

Female Coach of the Year

Kristyn Coley – Baseball

Duffy Earle – Swimming

Allison Kirby – Gymnastics

Male Coach of the Year (John Drinkwater Memorial Award)

Chris Roberts – Swimming

Jake Stanford – Soccer

Jeff Thomas – Curling

Team of the Year (Edward P. Browne Memorial Award)

Holy Cross – Soccer

Galway Hitman – Softball

Team Gushue – Curling

Official of the Year Award

Joan Butler – Swimming

Tara Jensen – Artistic Swimming

Kearney O’Keefe – Softball

Senior Female Athlete of the Year (Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award)

Kate Bazeley – Athletics

Maggie Connors – Hockey

Jane Pope – Soccer

Senior Male Athlete of the Year (Fred Hayward Memorial Award)

Zach Dean – Hockey

Colin Walsh – Softball

Nathan Young – Curling

The finalists represent 13 sports from communities all throughout Newfoundland and Labrador demonstrating the strong talent and leadership that we have within the province’s sports community.