St. John’s – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the finalists for this year’s Provincial Annual Awards. Historically these awards are presented during the annual Stars and Legends Awards Gala, a night of celebrating the achievements of decorated athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and administrators.

In the interest of caution as the province works to navigate the challenges imposed by COVID-19, SportNL has determined that the presentation of these prestigious awards will be hosted virtually via social media Thursday, August 5th, 2021 at 4:00pm.


“While we cannot celebrate in person, the Virtual Annual Awards will be a true celebration of sport in our province. We congratulate all of our finalists and the organizations they represent”, said Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s Executive Director Troy Croft. “We look forward to celebrating with the sport community on August 5th.”

The Provincial Annual Awards recognize the tremendous successes in athletic achievement this past year has brought. There are nine categories that encompass the Awards: Senior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year, Executive of the Year, Official of the Year and Volunteer of the Year.


Finalists from each category have been selected by Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s selections committee, extracted from a list of nominees compiled by Provincial Sport Organizations across the province. The finalists can be found below.


Junior Female Athlete of the Year (Margaret Davis Memorial Award) 

Abby Newhook of St. John’s (Hockey)

Megan Skinner of St. John’s (Gymnastics)

Kate Williams of St. John’s (Swimming)


Junior Male Athlete of the Year (Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award)

Nathan Young of Torbay (Curling)

Zach Dean of St. John’s (Hockey)

Jaxson Row of Paradise (Swimming)


Executive of the Year (Graham Snow Memorial Award) 

Doug Kirby of St. John’s (Soccer)

Keith Biggin of Corner Brook (Hockey)

Craig Walker of Paradise (Baseball)


Volunteer of the Year (Frank W. Graham Memorial Award) 

Karen Gosse of St. John’s (Gymnastics)

Leslie Anne Walsh of St. John’s (Curling)

Kristyn Coley of St. John’s (Baseball)


 Coach of the Year (John Drinkwater Memorial Award)

Jeff Thomas of St. John’s (Curling)

Alison Kirby of Conception Bay South (Gymnastics)

Christopher Mercer of St. John’s (Swimming)


Team of the Year (Edward P. Browne Memorial Award) 

Fieldians Boys 03’s of St. John’s (Soccer)

Team Gushue of St. John’s (Curling)

3 Cheers Pub of St. John’s (Softball)


Official of the Year Award

David Liverman of St. John’s (Soccer)

Chris Bishop of St. John’s (Hockey)


Senior Female Athlete of the Year (Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award) 

Abby Simms of St. John’s (Swimming)

Maggie Connors of St. John’s (Hockey)

Holly O’Neill of St. John’s (Soccer)


 Senior Male Athlete of the Year (Ferd Hayward Memorial Award)

Noah Cumby of St. John’s (Swimming)

Michael O’Brien of Mount Pearl (Soccer)

Alex Newhook of St. John’s (Hockey)


Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is a volunteer organization committed to the promotion and advancement of amateur sport throughout the province in Newfoundland and Labrador


Media Contact:

Troy Croft

Executive Director