St. John’s, NL – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador (SportNL) is thrilled to announce the three finalists for the 2021 Provincial Annual Awards.

The annual awards program celebrates the sporting successes and contributions of those within the sports community from our province. Each of the finalists were nominated by their provincial sport organization as the best in their sport. New for the 2022 awards is the Female Coach of the Year Award which recognizes a female coach who inspires others across the amateur sport community.

“With so many highly-talented and devoted sport individuals in Newfoundland and Labrador, the achievements of each of the finalists is inspiring,” said Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s Board President Chris Schwartz. “I want to express my appreciation to the members of the selection committee for taking time out of their busy schedules to be part of the awards process.”

Sport NL is pleased to announce the finalists to recognize their outstanding performances in sport. A considerable number of nominations were submitted by our Member Organizations for consideration in the ten awards categories including: Senior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Coach of the Year, Team of the Year, Executive of the Year, Official of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year.

“The finalists for each category should be proud of their contributions to sport this past year. To receive a nomination among the phenomenal number of nominations received this year is an incredible achievement,” said Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s Executive Director Troy Croft. “Congratulations to all of the finalists.”

The three finalists for each of the 10 award categories were selected, based on voting results, from a committee of sports professionals and broadcasters. The finalists for each category are listed below and their biographies are in this backgrounder.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year (Margaret Davis Memorial Award)

Abby Newhook – Hockey

Kyla Piercey – Gymnastics

Abby Williams – Swimming

Junior Male Athlete of the Year (Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award)

Zack Dean – Hockey

Liam Drover-Mattinen – Tennis

Hudson White – Baseball

Senior Female Athlete of the Year (Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award)

Kate Bazeley – Athletics

Maggie Connors – Hockey

Sophie Pickard – Rugby

Senior Male Athlete of the Year (Fred Hayward Memorial Award)

Emmanuel Dolo – Soccer

Liam Hickey – ParaHockey

Colin Walsh – Softball

Executive of the Year (Graham Snow Memorial Award)

Chris Bartlett – Soccer

Greg Barton – Hockey

Sean Cadigan – Softball

Volunteer of the Year (Frank W. Graham Memorial Award)

Jared Butler – Hockey

Bernie Manning – Soccer

Colin Rose – Baseball

Female Coach of the Year

Kristyn Coley – Baseball

Stephanie Delaney – Hockey

Allison Kirby – Gymnastics

Male Coach of the Year (John Drinkwater Memorial Award)

Stephen Nolan – Gymnastics

Jake Stanford – Soccer

Jeff Thomas – Curling

Team of the Year (Edward P. Browne Memorial Award)

16U Female Provincial Team – Baseball

Newfoundland Rock Senior Men’s Team – Rugby

Team Gushue – Curling

Official of the Year Award

Kevin Fitzpatrick – Basketball Officials

Chantal McDonald – Soccer

Danielle Mills – Hockey

In recognition of the recipients outstanding achievements, the 2022 SportNL Provincial Annual Awards will be celebrated through a virtual celebration at a later date.