Inducted 2023

Jean (Lake) Thompson has been passionately committed to the sport of soccer for over 35 years, making her mark as a leader to grow the game in the province. She was instrumental in helping to establish a women’s soccer league in St. John’s in 1976 and served as board president for two years from 1982 to 1984. To work towards advancing women’s soccer in the province, Jean served on the Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association executive in the Secretary position for eight years and then spent 10 years on the Canadian Soccer Association Referees Committee.  

 Without a doubt, Jean’s biggest impact on the game was through her involvement with officiating at all levels of provincial and national competition. As the first certified female official in Atlantic Canada to receive her Class 3 Referee’s badge in 1981 and her Class 1 Referee’s badge in 1990, she officiated ten National Age Group Championships, three National Senior Women’s (Jubilee Trophy) Championships, and three National Senior Men’s (Challenge Cup) Championships. Her accomplishments in officiating have encouraged other female officials to follow in her footsteps. 

 Stepping away from being a field official, she sought to become an assessor, receiving her Provincial Assessor’s Licence from the Canadian Soccer Association (CSA) in 1990, and went on to become the first woman in Canada to receive her National Assessors Licence in 1996. This led her to earn an invitation to join an elite group of officials from across Canada to attend CSA’s Referee/Assessor/Instructor Symposium in 2004 and again in 2006. At the national level, she was appointed by the CSA as the Supervisor of Officials (SOO) for nine National Competitions including two Canada Games Female Soccer Competitions and three Inter-University Sports (CIS) National Women’s Championships.

 Jean’s many appointments to provincial, national, and international tournaments, is evidence of her abilities. For her efforts she has been recognized over the years with numerous awards including being made an Honorary Life Member of The Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association, inducted into the Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Hall of Fame and the St. John’s Soccer Hall of Fame. She has also been recognized for her contributions to St. John’s and provincial soccer with the Eleanor Bennett Award, the Andy Joy Award, and the Ross Arlett Award.